Day 3

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs with spinach and a smoothie (banana, pineapple, blueberries, carrot, water and coconut oil) Yay! Finally finished off all the spinach from my weekly produce box! Want to check out where I get my weekly dose of awesome, organic produce?  www.aho.com

Lunch: Different for everyone!  Emily: salad, Matthew: leftovers from dinner, carrots and applesauce (the applesauce counts, but it felt a little like cheating.  But I was in a hurry and he’s picky, so I went with it!) Michael: ants on a log, orange bell peppers and tomatoes, Me: leftovers from 2 nights ago (plenty of mixed veggies in there) and an orange. Hubby: exact replica of last night’s dinner 🙂

Dinner: Try this one!  I call it Rainbow Casserole.  The original recipe is: http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/healthified-chicken-tortilla-casserole/6e9ac8fb-ff8d-4234-bfcb-c748c5918672

But I’ve played with it enough times and I’ve made some changes.  I’ll add a can of black beans and a can (or two if it’s a small can) of sliced olives. Original recipe calls for 1 green pepper.  I omit that, but instead chop up 1 red, 1 yellow and 1 orange pepper and throw that in.  I use the blue corn tortillas I find at Trader Joe’s (I like that Trader Joe’s claims to not sell anything made from GMOs.  Corn is one of those things that is almost always genetically modified, so I am hoping that they are true to their claim.)  I’ll sometimes throw in the tomato called for in the original recipe, sometimes not.  Either way, it turns out to be a beautiful rainbow casserole!  Also, if you want to make it vegetarian, just omit the chicken and use a can of cream of celery soup instead.  I’ve done that before and it turned out great!

I meant to throw another vegetable on their plates, but I was in a hurry and ran out the door as soon as Ed got home tonight.  I admit I totally forgot.  But there were peppers, olives and chiles in the dinner.  Does that count?

I am off to put together Michael’s lunch for tomorrow.  Found these and they arrived today.  He is eager to try one out!  I’m going to put greek yogurt mixed with frozen fruit in there and freeze it.  I’ll let you know tomorrow how he liked it!  🙂

http://www.amazon.com/Norpro-431-4-Piece-Silicone-Maker/dp/B0036B9KHO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1300337531&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

