Day 6

Decided not to bore you with the details of today’s menu, except to say we met our goal and then some.  Yay!  I was very happy this morning when Ed got up to feed the kids while I slept in.  I was even happier when I heard that they’d eaten 2 fruits with their breakfast!!

We received our weekly box of organic produce today.  (www.aho.com)  Meatloaf sounded like a nice comfort food on this chilly day. We decided to use the potatoes from our box for mashed potatoes and also cooked up some carrots and parsnips that also came in the box.  In case you aren’t familiar, parsnips look like white carrots and taste kind of like a milder version of a carrot.  In the past I’ve cut them up and Emily would eat them raw, dipped in ranch dressing, just like she eats carrots.  Since carrots are often a dinner staple in these winter months, I decided to cut up the parsnips and cook them with the carrots.  I thought the kids would get a kick out of eating orange and white carrots.  Well….. turns out that parsnips cook much faster than carrots do, so when the carrots were done, the parsnips were overdone.  We sprinkled some seasoned salt and seasoned pepper on the veggies, along with a little butter.  When mixing them up, the parsnips disintegrated. The end result looked like carrots mixed in with mashed potatoes.  Quite honestly, it looked rather pretty.  I wish I had stopped to take a picture.  I also thought it tasted as good as it looked!  I thought, for those of you who like to sneak in extra veggies, parsnips would blend in well with mashed potatoes and probably never be detected!  For me, the next time I decide to make orange and white “carrots”, I’ll start the carrots first and throw the parsnips in towards the end!

While hubby was busy making dinner, Matthew and I were making blueberry muffins for dessert!  As far as blueberry muffins go, I thought they were ok.  Ed said they were fine.  The kids ate 3 each!

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (I use King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat.  For my SCV friends, they sell it at Vons and Albertsons – not at Stater Bros.)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract (don’t use imitation – ever!)
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil (you can use any oil, but coconut is your healthiest choice!)
  • 3/4 cup orange juice (freshly squeezed from our aho box! but, of course, any kind will do)
  • 1 cup blueberries
  1. Heat oven to 400
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients (first 5 ingredients on list)
  3. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredient mixture and add remaining ingredients
  4. Mix together
  5. Scoop into muffin pan, prepped with liners.
  6. Cook about 13-15 min, until toothpick comes out clean

Makes 12 muffins

Also wanted to share one more cool thing.  I mentioned these ( http://www.amazon.com/Norpro-431-4-Piece-Silicone-Maker/dp/B0036B9KHO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1300584334&sr=8-1 ) in an earlier post.  Today I got my highly anticipated Pampered Chef order, which included an very cool manual food processor.  I was so excited to try it out!  I took some frozen mango and cherries, defrosted them in the microwave and then put them in the food processor.  Added some of Trader Joe’s non fat, plain Greek yogurt and processed away!   Made a delicious yogurt that went into the silicone pop molds that the kids can take to school in their lunches.  This beats buying those yogurt tubes they are so fond of!  My homemade mixture is much healthier!  No sugar (except for the sugar naturally occurring in the fruit) and lots of protein!  Sugar is the #2 ingredient in the store bought yogurt tubes 😦  They are just as sweet and the kids love them!  Emily even saw me making the yogurt and asked for a bowl of it for dessert! (Along with her 3 muffins!)  Of course, not everyone has the new Pampered Chef food processor.  That’s ok!  You can use a regular food processor or a blender!

 

QUESTION:  Any of you computer savvy people out there know why, when I add a website reference in the blog, does it not automatically create a link?

3 Comments on “Day 6”

  1. christa says:

    Good idea on the parsnips, to sneak them in with mashed potatoes. And I just looked up those ice pop makers. Those look great.


Leave a Reply

