Lots of cookin’!

Ok, so… I’ve been doing lots of cooking!  Yesterday I made the granola bar recipe from 100days but it didn’t turn out as good as I’d hoped.  It seems that my kids like it though.  It does not stick together too well, but they were happy to eat the little chunks.  Today Michael used the littlest chunks to make cereal.  I don’t know how to say this other than to say it’s a lot of chewing.  My jaw got tired.  Of course, I am in the middle of getting a crown replaced and can only chew on one side – that might have something to do with it.  Or not.  Anyway, it seems that the kids will eat what came out, but I won’t be making it again. (And, I am guessing that after one or two more days, they probably won’t be all that interested in it anymore anyway.) Matthew’s speech teacher told me she has a good granola bar recipe, so I will try that when she gets it to me.

I also made this really yummy bread to go with out chili dinner yesterday.  I think it came out good.  It was hearty, one nice chunk was enough to satisfy me, which is unusual.  Bread usually has me coming back for more!  http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/cabot-cheddar-soda-bread-recipe

Today I went back to baking and made whole wheat bread, hoping that if I could find a good recipe I can start baking sandwich bread instead of buying it.  I liked this recipe!  It was super easy and it came out tasty!  I’m thinking maybe next time I’ll sprinkle some sunflower seeds or something on top.  http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/no-knead-100-whole-wheat-bread-recipe

While the bread was rising and baking, I made these whole wheat tortillas.  http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/05/26/recipe-whole-wheat-tortillas/

Oh my goodness, I had no idea how easy and fun (the kids loved this!) making tortillas can be!!  Tortillas are something we eat a lot of – burritos and quesadillas are a favorite over here.  Most of the brands in the supermarket have hydrogenated oils, which I really try to stay away from.  I have found ONE brand of whole wheat tortillas that doesn’t have any hydrogenated oils and they’ll probably still be my go to brand in case I need to buy tortillas, but I plan to keep these homemade guys on hand as much as I can keep up with the kids eating them!  They ate half of them while I was cooking them up!  The recipe is so very simple and has only 4 ingredients: whole wheat flour, vegetable oil (I used coconut oil and they came out great!), a pinch of salt and a cup of water.  So simple!  My store bought brand has many more ingredients!  I will definitely be making these again!  🙂

The Food Challenge

I told my kids about this week’s food challenge yesterday.  They were quite thrilled when I told them that this was a challenge for ME. They were even more excited when I explained the whole thing to them.  It has actually been a pretty easy 2 days for me with this challenge, much easier than I had anticipated.  Instead of serving their dinner for them, I put everything out on the table and let them serve themselves.  I remind them that they can eat as much or as little as they want, but they have to have at least 3 bites of everything.  I also remind them not to waste – take a little bit and then go back for more if they want to, but please don’t pile up their plate and then eat only a little bit.  They love this new independence!  Today, Matthew and Emily surprised me by going back for seconds, Emily thirds!  Michael did a great job too – even though this was a dinner he decided he didn’t like the last time I served it, he served himself a little scoop and ate it without complaining once.  I know if I had served him there would have been lots of grumbling while he ate, making for a stressful dinner for everyone.  Tonight was much more enjoyable.  Also, the kids have been snacking more than I’d usually allow, but since they are grabbing fruit, I’m happy!  Yay!  I think this new behavior might actually stick around after the challenge ends!

For dessert tonight we made banana ice cream – just threw a couple of frozen banana chunks in the blender with a  small amount of milk and mixed it up!  It was a little more like a milkshake than ice cream, but it tasted good – especially with the swirl of peanut butter we added.  The leftovers went in the freezer, hopefully tomorrow it will be a better consistency.

Leave a Reply

