Asparagus Guacamole

I ran 2 miles again yesterday morning.  Still tough, but I managed to do the same route in 2 min less than the day before, so yay! 🙂

Took today and tomorrow to rest.  Will have to do something Sunday to meet this week’s challenge goal.

As I was going through Michael’s backpack this afternoon I came across the monthly lunch menu sent home by the district.  The back always has a little newsletter with healthy tips and a recipe highlighting a fruit or vegetable that is in season.  I find this kind of funny, or sad maybe.  One side of the paper has healthy eating tips, the other shows the menu of what they are feeding the children.  Super healthy items like: pancake on a stick, butttermilk bar, hot dogs, chicken sticks, shrimp poppers… ugh.

How nice it would be if I could only stop packing lunches and send my kid to school each day to eat a healthy, wholesome meal.  Not going to happen anytime soon.  😦

Anyway, the newsletter had a recipe for Asparagus Guacamole.  I LOVE guacamole.  LOVE LOVE LOVE it!  I can make an enormous bowl and eat it all, no problem.  However, it’s kind of fattening.  Yes, it is a healthy fat and I’m good with that.  But still.  Now, I was hesitant to think  that asparagus would make a good substitute for avocados, but since I happened to have a bunch of organic asparagus in my fridge that I didn’t have plans for I figured it would be a good experiment.  Oh. My. Gosh.  I have to say, this stuff was super simple and super yummy!!!  I ate half of it immediately and it is taking a lot of willpower to let the other half chill in the fridge.  Because I cooked the asparagus first, the guac came out hot.  I’ve never eaten hot guac before.  :-/  but I tasted it just to see if it was going to be even remotely similar and my goodness, it does!  Granted, it tasted like hot guac.  But it was so good I couldn’t stop myself.  I ate a bunch.  So now, I am impatiently waiting for it to chill so I can try it cold.  I thought I’d share the recipe with you while I wait:

  • 10.5 ounces fresh, trimmed or frozen, cut asparagus. (I just used what I had… 15 stalks or so?  Didn’t count or weight them)
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons lime or lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp canned green chili peppers, chopped
  • 1 tbsp onion (I used the dried flakes)
  • 2 tsp tomato paste
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper (I used seasoned pepper)
  1. Cook asparagus.  Drain well, pat dry.  (I put it in a covered casserole dish with 1/4 cup water and microwaved it for about 6 min.)
  2. Place in blender.  Add remaining ingredients.  Blend until smooth.

Dip will become less thick upon standing and will need to be stirred.

Let me know if you try it!!!

Leave a Reply

